My Salvation Experience (in brief)

I have the testimony of a changed life from the ungodly person I used to be, to who I am now. Even though I was exposed to the word of God, I didn’t make a total commitment until I was in college. I wanted to experience what was out there, but I only wasted time going after things that only offered temporary satisfaction. What I didn’t realize was that the wages (payment) for my sin was death. (Rom. 6:23, Matt.16:26) What I finally realized was that the gift of God was eternal life through Christ Jesus. I thank God that I now know what it means to be delivered from the sin that once had me bound (Matt.1:21, 2 Cor. 5:17, John 8:36).

What I did was simple: When God opened my eyes to how my sin affected Him (1 John 3:8), I asked for his forgiveness and repented of (to turn away from) my sins (1 John 1:9). I asked God to save me and fill me with the Holy Ghost (Acts 1:8).

BUT just before I asked God to save me, I started to wrestle with whether or not I could actually stay saved. I didn’t see how I wouldn’t still slip and want to go back to those sins again. Do you know that the Lord spoke to my spirit and said all I needed to do was surrender to Him and He would keep me? It was like a burden lifted up off of me. Once I surrendered my will for His will, I had a whole new outlook and a changed way of thinking (Rom.12:2). My desires changed!

To those of you reading this, God is no respecter of persons. He has delivered me and countless others to walk in the newness of life and you are no exception! Your situation is not too hard for God!

If you have never accepted Christ as the forgiver of your sins, or if you have accepted Christ but find that you’re still doing ungodly things, YOU can leave this page a different person! God loves you (John 3:16)! He wants you to come to HIM (Jer.3:12-15). You can simply follow the same steps I did…you may even need to start by asking God to open your eyes to your true condition. Whatever he shows you, repent of it and ask him to take control of your life, save you and fill you with the Holy Ghost (the power to stay saved).

Leave a Reply

