The Cluttered Desk

Someone purchased a desk for me in hopes that I would have a place to work instead of my bed. Initially, I was excited about this desk and began transferring to it, items that were once either on my bed or on the side of my bed. A nice chair was also included. For maybe a few weeks or months, if I needed to study or work, I’d go and sit at the desk then put away the work once I had finished. Over time, I became less and less diligent about clearing away the items on my desk once I had finished and it became very cluttered and overrun with some of everything-mail, magazines, books, cards, you name it and likely it was there. Eventually, I made my way back to my bed to do all of my work and studying and thought no more about this desk. 

Then one day, the person that bought the desk for me brought to my attention that the desk was no longer being used for the purpose they intended when they bought it for me. Although, I hadn’t intentionally let the desk get that way, I had to agree that it was not being used as it was intended. The person went on to say that maybe they should take the desk and put it use so that their money would not be wasted. Again, not trying to hear this, I was still in agreement that the desk needed to do more than just sit there and hold things, plus it made the room look less appealing. 

So I began to think about life and if we’re not careful, how we can get far off the track of God’s original intentions for our lives and I considered what the process would entail to restore purpose once again. 

The first thing I thought about was, things needed to be removed and put in their proper places. All that mail needed to be sorted and things that I had no intention of reading or using needed to be thrown away. The desk drawers also needed to be cleaned out and only that which was necessary should be left inside the drawers. 

Once the drawers are cleaned out and the desk top cleaned off the desk can now be used as it was intended. 

Can you imagine how difficult it would be to use that desk while it was still cluttered? Can you imagine how unpleasant that would be? But now that the desk has been cleared of the clutter, it’s a pleasure to sit there and it’s easier to use the top of the desk or find things in the drawer! 

Goodness gracious, how easily our lives can become like this desk! Thankfully, the scriptures encourage us to come boldly to the throne (God’s throne) of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:16 The previous verse says,  For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.  – Hebrews 4:15 That lets me know that I am bringing my problems to a God who understands and knows what we’re in and why and he can and is willing to help. You should know that as well. 

God wants us to function with purpose in a way that will bring him glory. So, shall he not give us what we need to be all that he has called us to be? 

If you find yourself here, pray the following. If you know of someone who is here either share this with them or pray that this prayer would become the attitude of their heart. 

Lord, never did I think I’d find myself here. It certainly wasn’t intentional. But here I am, asking for forgiveness for neglecting the purpose for which you have me here. Lord, clean the desktop of my life and empty the drawers of my heart as you see fit. Make me useful and fit for service that many may be drawn to you as a result. I love you Lord. Thank you for this amazing, new purpose in  my life. Enable me to tend more carefully to what you’ve placed in me. Help me to maintain a clear “desktop” by constant fellowship with you. (Feel free to add more to this prayer as the Lord moves upon your heart. ) In the name of Jesus, amen! 

Leave a Reply

